Well-Being | Happy Hygge Birthday

January is generally a challenge for me. With the magic of the holidays passed, I get a little down from the cold & gloomy weather, being stuck indoors, and feeling limited with ways I can celebrate my birthday.

This year, as I turned 30, I decided to embrace the cozy with a hygge birthday surrounded by a few close friends.

Hygge is a danish term most easily described as coziness to help make it through the winter. It’s wool socks and blankets, it’s soup and hot tea, it’s taking things slow and enjoying life’s simple pleasures.

We had asparagus soup, a crusty loaf of bread, warm drinks, and candied ginger & sea salt chocolate chip cookies. We snacked and played games; we chatted and laughed. It was small and relaxed, so much so that I forgot to take a single picture. And that’s okay. It was everything I wanted to celebrate my day.

What about you? What helps you keep cozy in the wintertime?

Leave a Reply

